WR releases legislative voting record – congratulating 100% voters

Jun 9, 2022
Written by WR Communications

The two-year (2021-22) WR Legislative Voting Record has officially been released and is now available for review.

The association counted 15 key votes for the House and 13 for the Senate. These votes represent issues that WR actively lobbied, which impacted our members and the retail industry at large. Two stand-out examples include the support of House Bill 2018 adopting a sales tax holiday for back-to-school clothing and supplies over the Labor Day Weekend and opposition of Senate Bill 5096 establishing a capital gains tax.

Congratulations and thank you to the legislators that scored a perfect 100% during both the 2021 and 2022 legislative sessions:


Peter Abbarno (20th District), Andrew Barkis (2nd District), Rob Chase (4th District), Tom Dent (13th District), Jeremie Dufault (15th District), Mary Dye (9th District), Greg Gilday (10th District), Mark Klicker, (16th District), Brad Klippert (8th District), Joel Kretz (7th District), Bob McCaslin (4th District), Joel McEntire (19th District), Ed Orcutt (20th District), Joe Schmick (9th District), Robert Sutherland (39th District), Jim Walsh (19th District), and J.T. Wilcox (2nd District).


John Braun (20th District), Sharon Brown (8th District), Perry Dozier (16th District), Phil Fortunato (31st District), Chris Gildon (25th District), Jim Honeyford (15th District), Jim McCune (2nd District), Ron Muzzall (10th District), Mike Padden (4th District), Mark Schoesler (9th District), Shelly Short (7th District), Keith Wagoner (39th District), Judy Warnick (13th District), Jeff Wilson (19th District), and Lynda Wilson (17th District).

Please feel free to use this guide to help you determine which legislators support the issues that are important to retailers in Washington state. And, don’t forget to thank our legislators for their tireless work to support the industry as many of our businesses continue to recover from the pandemic and navigate the uncertainly ahead.

Thank you for your public service and commitment to keeping the retail industry healthy and vibrant.