Employers are reminded that the statewide minimum wage will rise from the current $13.50 to $13.69 starting on January 1, 2020.
Employers throughout the state must pay most employees at least the minimum wage for every hour worked. Workers who are 14 or 15 years old may be paid 85% of the adult minimum wage, or $11.64 per hour.
Go here for information about the state’s minimum wage law and other rights and benefits available in the workplace.
Washington Retail reminds that steadily rising minimum wages put pressure on employers by raising overhead expenses that can lead to higher prices, cutbacks in hours and layoffs. The Washington Policy Center has posted a commentary here on the pressures caused by a steadily rising minimum wage.
An added pressure this year is a lowered minimum salary threshold that requires employers to pay overtime, approved by Labor & Industries. This means that more employees now qualify for both their salary and overtime pay. Given decreases in revenue for many small businesses that were closed earlier this year due to the COVID-19 pandemic, 2021 presents new challenges to meet rising expenses.