Seven candidates announce they will run for Seattle mayor

Feb 5, 2021
Written by wpengine

So far, seven candidates have announced they will run for Seattle mayor in this year’s election. Incumbent Jenny Durkan has announced she will not seek re-election to a second term.

The candidates will first compete in the August 3rd primary election. The two top vote getters will move on to the November 2nd general election. The mayor serves a four-year term. Whoever is elected will face numerous challenges including economic hardships for businesses during the coronavirus pandemic with resulting store closures and widespread unemployment; rampant organized retail crime; homelessness on city streets; and calls for police reform.

The announced candidates are:

  • City Council President Lorena Gonzalez
  • Andrew Grant Houston, an architect and urban designer
  • Lance Randall, who leads a South Seattle economic development non-profit
  • Colleen Echohawk, executive director of the Chief Seattle Club
  • Henry Clay Dennison, a former candidate for Governor under the Socialist Workers Party
  • Matthew Ervin
  • William Kopatich

Those interested in running have until May 21 to file their candidacy with King County Elections. The other citywide offices – City Attorney and the two at-large Council seats – are also on the ballot this year. The seven Council district seats on are the ballot in 2023.

Source: Seattle Times