Seattle City Council Faces Massive Turnover in this Year’s Election

Mar 6, 2023
Written by WR Communications

With only 3 of the 7 district Councilmembers seeking reelection, this year’s election is guaranteed to bring major changes to the City Council when it convenes in January 2024.

Councilmembers Lisa Herbold (District 1), Kshama Sawant (District 3), Alex Pedersen (District 4), and Debora Juarez (District 5 and Council President) are retiring from the Council at the end of this year. A fifth Councilmember, Teresa Mosqueda, is running for an open King County Council seat.

If CM Mosqueda departs for the King County Council, the most senior members of the Council will be those who win reelection this year. The three remaining Councilmembers – Tammy Morales (District 2), Dan Strauss (District 6), and Andrew Lewis (District 7) – have announced their reelection bids. All three are now in their first terms. Critical leadership roles on the 2024 Council will be filled by either newly reelected Councilmembers beginning their second terms, citywide Councilmember Sara Nelson (who is in her first term), or new Councilmembers elected this year.


Return to newsletter